from here to somewhere

Nick's Cove, Marshall CA 10/23/2014

After 14 hours of driving, I arrived nowhere near my destination.  Two hours earlier, I realized I was in the middle of rush hour traffic, of people trying to get home from work or school or somewhere, the key word somewhere, they were all headed somewhere specific, somewhere tangible, somewhere definite. A stream of movement towards a specific destination.

On this road, we were all headed north, for most an exact north, an exact location. Except I’m heading north, north of somewhere maybe north of nowhere. The stop is when I get there or I should ask myself “When I arrive where?”

This was where I stopped. This was not my destination.

I had none to begin with.

 

Leave a Reply

